Where Science and Enlightenment Collide

Attachment is a trickster!

meditation-stairs-1sI originally had a different topic in mind for today’s journal entry, but I recently had an interaction that brought a topic once more to the forefront of my mind.

Attachment! Nasty word to us who study the Dharma, but did you know there is a danger when one learns the Dharma? I see it all the time! The words of the Buddha are beautiful, powerful, and trans-formative! They can be a beacon and a guide in life. But often, in this day of information, we get too attached to what was said by THE Buddha instead of what was said by a Buddha, some times to the point of deification!

On seeing him, [Dona] went to him and said, “Master, are you a deva [a god]?”
“No, brahman, I am not a deva.”
“Are you a gandhabba [a kind of low-grade god; a celestial musician]?”
“No…”
“… a yakkha [a kind of protector god, or sometimes a trickster spirit]?”
“No…”
“… a human being?”
“No, brahman, I am not a human being.”
“Then what sort of being are you?” “Remember me, brahman, as ‘awakened.’”

There are those who are so attached to the idea that Siddhartha or Shakyamuni was THE Buddha they forget that there have been and will be many Buddha.

“There have been many Buddhas before me and will be many Buddhas in the future,” The Buddha recalled to his disciples. “All living beings have the Buddha nature and can become Buddhas.”

We must not become so attached to the identity of the messenger that we ignore the message!

For instance if I see a quote that simply says “The Dalai Lama” I know too well that there have, to this date been 14 Dalai Lamas and that any one of them might be attributed to the quote.
Remember, the Dharma is a living teaching, one that will evolve as we evolve even the Dalai Lama has said: “If scientific analysis were conclusively to demonstrate certain claims in Buddhism to be false, then we must accept the findings of science and abandon those claims.” The teachings are meant to be treated as a living essence of universal truth and we are the universe manifested in a human existence, traveling along a spiritual journey!

Not only am I a simple man learning the Dharma, but I am also a practitioner of Yoga and the Yamas, and as my Yogini taught me I must also concede the point of Satya (सत्य): [truthfulness, word and thought in conformity with the facts, honesty.] Just because something is a truth for me, does not also mean it is a truth for you, I respect all of my brothers and sisters who walk the path, and only want to do my part in the Sangha, and ease a suffering I see in some of our followers, who can be very passionate with their beliefs.

With Love,
Namaste!

One response

  1. very nice writing! And yes indeed, attachment is a trickster, it has the power to fill you up whilst leaving you completely empty.

    May 13, 2014 at 7:35 am

Leave a Reply

