Where Science and Enlightenment Collide

Nirvana is mine when I have the strength to choose it

path_in_the_woods_Wallpaper_fhd1gChoosing Nirvana requires one only to have the strength of conviction to make that choice.  What is Nirvana? (in Buddhism) Nirvana is a transcendent state in which there is neither suffering, desire, nor sense of self, and the subject is released from the effects of karma and the cycle of death and rebirth. It represents the final goal of Buddhism.

But what choices can be made in order to reach it? Well in order to reach Nirvana one must be first free of suffering.  One frees the mind from suffering by following the eight fold path.



1. Right Understanding: To keep ourselves free of prejudice and superstition, and to see the true nature of life.

2. Right Thought: To turn our minds away from the violence and hatred in this world and work on focusing on the positive.

3. Right Speech: To refrain from harmful talk and to use our words wisely. (T.H.I.N.K. even when you are online)

4. Right Action: To see that our deeds come from peace and goodwill. To grow every day in the Buddha’s Teachings.

5. Right Livelihood: To try to earn our living in such a way that we avoid harming ourselves and others.

6. Right Effort: To use our energies to promote the overcoming ignorance and destructive desires.

7. Right Mindfulness: To cherish a good mind and be attentive. (be in the now man!)

8. Right Concentration: To practice meditation and cultivate awareness.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s