Where Science and Enlightenment Collide

A Sang-what?

A Sangha!
world-classrooomAlthough it tickles my fancy to consider myself as the “Monk without a ‘Master'” I would not go as far as to say that I do not have a Sangha.

But what is a Sangha, A Sangha (Pali: सङ्घ saṅgha; Sanskrit: संघ saṃgha; Chinese: 僧伽; pinyin: Sēngjiā; Tibetan: དགེ་འདུན་ dge ‘dun) is a word in Pali and Sanskrit meaning “association”, “assembly,” “company” or “community” and most commonly refers in Buddhism to the monastic community of ordained Buddhist monks or nuns. This community is traditionally referred to as the bhikkhu-sangha or bhikkhuni-sangha. As a separate category, those who have attained any of the four stages of enlightenment, whether or not they are members of the bhikkhu-sangha or bhikkhuni-sangha, are referred to as the ariya-sangha or “noble Sangha”.

The Sangha also includes laymen and laywomen who are personally dedicated to the discipline of Dharma-Vinaya. This use of the word “Sangha” is only sometimes found in the Pali texts.

My view is an even broader term. Each person in our Sangha is someone we are supposed to seek refuge under, for help and guidance. My view is much like that of Craig Harper who said “The world is my classroom, each day a new lesson, and every person I meet is my teacher.” the guidance I find is in the world, whether the lessons are good or bad is dependant on judgement, instead I see them is what to do and what not to do based on Karmic results, and try my best to keep my emotions and judgements free and out of the situations I face. So I encourage each of you, step out into your Sangha, care for it, nurture it, and learn from it. Together we can enlighten the world.

Leave a Reply

