Where Science and Enlightenment Collide

A Simple Student

indexOn Wednesday the 30th, quite the surprisingly controversial posting went live.  I had no idea that it would be so popular.  Some people took it as I was trying to create a new teaching, a pseudo form, or bastardized form of the Dharma.  This was far from my intention.  Some even thought I had not read or studied Buddhism at all because my thought was in conflict with their tradition of Buddhism.  I was merely doing as the Buddha himself suggested, question the teachings trying to get them to agree with my own reasoning and common sense. I meant to offence to any one, nor did I expect anyone to take what I had said at faith and to accept it as truth.  It was merely a theory based on my understanding of the tales told of the Buddha’s awakening once he reached enlightenment.

Although I know I am not supposed to rely solely on my own pondering and probability of thought, I was merely voicing a theory that made sense to me and unified the accounting of the Buddha having lived many lives before and the concept of No Self. My thought was even if there was no traditional soul some part of who Buddha was, separate from his consciousness connected him to those previous lives.  With those teachings and my pondering I gave voice to theory that is all.

I have never claimed to be an expert, I apologise if I seemed that way, I am merely a curious student.

“Now, Kalamas, don’t go by reports, by legends, by traditions, by scripture, by logical conjecture, by inference, by analogies, by agreement through pondering views, by probability, or by the thought, ‘This contemplative is our teacher.’ When you know for yourselves that, ‘These qualities are skillful; these qualities are blameless; these qualities are praised by the wise; these qualities, when adopted & carried out, lead to welfare & to happiness’ — then you should enter & remain in them.” -Buddha

Namaste!

.

Leave a Reply

